ATTACHMENT E
iving Wage Requirements 'or Service Contracts

This contract is subject to the Living Wage requirements under Title 18, State Finance
and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland and the regulations proposed by
the Commissioner of Labor and Industry. The Living Wage generally applies to a
Contractor or Subcontractor who performs work on a State contract for services that is
valued at $100,000.00 or more. An employee is subject to the Living Wage if he/she is at
least 18 years old or will turn 18 during the duration of the contract; works at least
thirteen (13) consecutive weeks on the State Contract and spends at least one-half of the
employee’s time during any work week on the State Contract.

The Living Wage Law does not apply to:

4] A Contractor who:
(A) has a State contract for services valued at less than $100,000, or

(B)  employs ten (10) or fewer employees and has a State contract for
services valued at less than $500,000.

(2) A Subcontractor who:
(A)  performs work on a State contract for services valued at less than
$100,000.00,

(B)  employs ten (10) or fewer employees and performs work on a State
contract for services valued at less than $500,000.00, or

(C)  performs work for a contractor not covered by the Living Wage Law
as defined in B(1)(B) above, or B(3) or C below.

3 Service contracts for the following:
(A)  services with a Public Service Company;

(B)  services with a nonprofit organization;
(C)  services with an officer or other entity that is in the Executive Branch
of the State government and is authorized by law to enter into a
procurement (“Unit”); or
(D)  services between a Unit and a County or Baltimore City.
If the Unit responsible for the State contract for services determines that application of
the Living Wage would conflict with any applicable Federal program, the Living Wage

does not apply to the contract or program.

A Contractor must not split or subdivide a State contract for services, pay an employee
through a third party, or treat an employee as an independent contractor or assi gn work to



employees to avoid the imposition of any of the requirements of Title 18, State Finance
and Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland.

Each Contractor/Subcontractor, subject to the Living Wage Law, shall post in a
prominent and easily accessible place at the work site(s) of covered employees a notice of
the Living Wage Rates, employee rights under the law, and the name, address, and
telephone number of the Commissioner.

The Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall adjust the wage rates by the annual
average increase or decrease, if any, in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers
for the Washington/Baltimore metropolitan area, or any successor index, for the previous
calendar year, not later than 90 days after the start of each fiscal year. The Commissioner
shall publish any adjustments to the wage rates on the Division of Labor and Industry’s
Website. An employer subject to the Living Wage Law must comply with the rate
requirements during the initial term of the contract and all subsequent renewal periods,
including any increases in the wage rate, required by the Commissioner, automatically
upon the effective date of the revised wage rate.

A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the
employer’s share of the health insurance premium, as provided in §18-103(c), State
Finance and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall not lower an
employee’s wage rate below the minimum wage as set in §3-413, Labor and Employment
Article, Annotated Code of Maryland. A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the
wages paid to an employee based on the employer’s share of health insurance premium
shall comply with any record reporting requirements established by the Commissioner of
Labor and Industry.

A Contractor/Subcontractor may reduce the wage rates paid under §18-103(a), State
Finance and Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland, by no more than 50 cents of the
hourly cost of the employer’s contribution to an employee’s deferred compensation plan.
A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the
employer’s contribution to an employee’s deferred compensation plan shall not lower the
employee’s wage rate below the minimum wage as set in §3-413, Labor and Employment
Atticle, Annotated Code of Maryland.

Under Title 18, State and Finance Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, if
the Commissioner determines that the Contractor/Subcontractor violated a provision of
this title or regulations of the Commissioner, the Contractor/Subcontractor shall pay
restitution to each affected employee, and the State may assess liquidated damages of $20
per day for each employee paid less than the Living Wage.

Information pertaining to reporting obligations may be found by going to the DLLR
Website http://www.dllr.state.md.us/ and clicking on Living Wage.




ATTACHMENTE -1

Affidavit of Agreement
Maryland Living Wage Requirements-Service Contracts
Contract No.

Name of Contractor

Address

City State Zip Code

If the Contract is Exempt from the Living Wage Law

The Undersigned, being an authorized representative of the above named Contractor,
hereby affirms that the Contract is exempt from Maryland’s Living Wage Law for the
following reasons: (check all that apply)

Bidder/Offeror is a nonprofit organization

Bidder/Offeror is a public service company

Bidder/Offeror employs 10 or fewer employees and the proposed contract
value is less than $500,000

Bidder/Offeror employs more than 10 employees and the proposed
contract value is less than $100,000

If the Contract is a Living Wage Contract

A. The Undersigned, being an authorized representative of the above named
Contractor, hereby affirms our commitment to comply with Title 18, State
Finance and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland and, if required,
to submit all payroll reports to the Commissioner of Labor and Industry with
regard to the above stated contract. The Bidder/Offeror agrees to pay covered
employees who are subject to living wage at least the living wage rate in effect at
the time service is provided for hours spent on State contract activities, and to
ensure that its Subcontractors who are not exempt also pay the required living
wage rate to their covered employees who are subject to the living wage for
hours spent on a State contract for services. The Contractor agrees to comply
with, and ensure its Subcontractors comply with, the rate requirements during
the initial term of the contract and all subsequent renewal periods, including any
increases in the wage rate established by the Commissioner of Labor and
Industry, automatically upon the effective date of the revised wage rate.



ATTACHMENTE -1

Affidavit of Agreement
Maryland Living Wage Requirements-Service Contracts

B. (initial here if applicable) The Bidder/Offeror affirms it
has no covered employees for the following reasons: (check all that apply)

All employee(s) proposed to work on the State contract will spend less

than one-half of the employee’s time during every work week on the

State contract;

All employee(s) proposed to work on the State contract will be 17 years

of age or younger during the duration of the State contract; or

All employee(s) proposed to work on the State contract will work less

than 13 consecutive weeks on the State contract.

The Commissioner of Labor and Industry reserves the right to request payroll

records

and other data that the Commissioner deems sufficient to confirm these

affirmations at any time.

Name of Authorized Representative:

Signature of Authorized Representative Date

Title

Witness Name (Typed or Printed)

Witness Signature Date



