
ATTACHMENT E 
 

Living Wage Requirements for Service Contracts 
 
A. This contract is subject to the Living Wage requirements under Title 18, State Finance 

and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland and the regulations proposed by 
the Commissioner of Labor and Industry. The Living Wage generally applies to a 
Contractor or Subcontractor who performs work on a State contract for services that is 
valued at $100,000.00 or more.  An employee is subject to the Living Wage if he/she is at 
least 18 years old or will turn 18 during the duration of the contract; works at least 
thirteen (13) consecutive weeks on the State Contract and spends at least one-half of the 
employee’s time during any work week on the State Contract.   

 
B. The Living Wage Law does not apply to: 
 

(1) A Contractor who: 
(A)  has a State contract for services valued at less than $100,000, or 

 
(B) employs ten (10) or fewer employees and has a State contract for 

services valued at less than $500,000. 
 
 (2) A Subcontractor who:  

(A) performs work on a State contract for services valued at less than 
$100,000.00, 

 
(B) employs ten (10) or fewer employees and performs work on a State 

contract for services valued at less than $500,000.00, or 
 
(C) performs work for a contractor not covered by the Living Wage Law 

as defined in B(1)(B) above, or B(3) or C below. 
 
(3) Service contracts for the following: 

(A) services with a Public Service Company; 
 
(B) services with a nonprofit organization; 

 
(C) services with an officer or other entity that is in the Executive Branch 

of the State government and is authorized by law to enter into a 
procurement (“Unit”); or 

 
(D) services between a Unit and a County or Baltimore City. 

 
C. If the Unit responsible for the State contract for services determines that application of 

the Living Wage would conflict with any applicable Federal program, the Living Wage 
does not apply to the contract or program. 

 
D. A Contractor must not split or subdivide a State contract for services, pay an employee 

through a third party, or treat an employee as an independent contractor or assign work to 
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employees to avoid the imposition of any of the requirements of Title 18, State Finance 
and Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 
E. Each Contractor/Subcontractor, subject to the Living Wage Law, shall post in a 

prominent and easily accessible place at the work site(s) of covered employees a notice of 
the Living Wage Rates, employee rights under the law, and the name, address, and 
telephone number of the Commissioner. 

 
F. The Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall adjust the wage rates by the annual 

average increase or decrease, if any, in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers 
for the Washington/Baltimore metropolitan area, or any successor index, for the previous 
calendar year, not later than 90 days after the start of each fiscal year.  The Commissioner 
shall publish any adjustments to the wage rates on the Division of Labor and Industry’s 
Website.  An employer subject to the Living Wage Law must comply with the rate 
requirements during the initial term of the contract and all subsequent renewal periods, 
including any increases in the wage rate, required by the Commissioner, automatically 
upon the effective date of the revised wage rate. 

 
G. A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the 

employer’s share of the health insurance premium, as provided in §18-103(c), State 
Finance and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall not lower an 
employee’s wage rate below the minimum wage as set in §3-413, Labor and Employment 
Article, Annotated Code of Maryland.  A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the 
wages paid to an employee based on the employer’s share of health insurance premium 
shall comply with any record reporting requirements established by the Commissioner of 
Labor and Industry. 

 
H. A Contractor/Subcontractor may reduce the wage rates paid under §18-103(a), State 

Finance and Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland, by no more than 50 cents of the 
hourly cost of the employer’s contribution to an employee’s deferred compensation plan.  
A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the 
employer’s contribution to an employee’s deferred compensation plan shall not lower the 
employee’s wage rate below the minimum wage as set in §3-413, Labor and Employment 
Article, Annotated Code of Maryland.   

 
I. Under Title 18, State and Finance Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, if 

the Commissioner determines that the Contractor/Subcontractor violated a provision of 
this title or regulations of the Commissioner, the Contractor/Subcontractor shall pay 
restitution to each affected employee, and the State may assess liquidated damages of $20 
per day for each employee paid less than the Living Wage. 

 
J. Information pertaining to reporting obligations may be found by going to the DLLR 

Website http://www.dllr.state.md.us/ and clicking on Living Wage. 
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