Initial Notice of Automatic Cancellation and Right to Cancel 

Maryland Housing Fund Mortgage Insurance 

Under The Homeowners Protection Act

You have applied for a residential loan that requires private mortgage insurance (PMI). PMI reimburses a lender for financial loss that the lender may incur if you fail to make the required payments on the loan. Although PMI does not provide you with direct benefit, it does allow you to receive the loan without requiring a larger down payment.  In a typical home purchase transaction, PMI is usually required when a borrower is receiving only one loan and the down payment is less 20%, although the required down payment can vary by lender.
On July 29, 1998, Congress enacted the Homeowners Protection Act to require lenders to cancel mandatory private mortgage insurance (PMI) on residential mortgage loans under certain circumstances. The Act’s provisions took effect July 29, 1999 and apply to loans closed on or after that date.  Since your residential mortgage loan, which is owned by the Community Development Administration, will be made after July 29, 1999 and insured with PMI, the HPA provides you with the legal rights described in paragraphs (1) to (3) below.
Features of the Maryland Housing Fund Mortgage Insurance
The PMI on your loan will be issued by the Maryland Housing Fund (MHF). The special features of the MHF insurance are: (1) you are required to pay a one-time upfront premium equivalent to 5 years of annual premiums at the closing of your loan; (2) you will not be required to pay any additional premiums and will not owe any additional premiums; and, (3) the PMI insurance provided by MHF is for the full term of the loan.

Please be aware that most of your rights under the Homeowners Protection Act to cancel or terminate PMI will not likely occur within the 5 year period you were required to pay the PMI premium.  If the PMI is cancelled or terminated within the first five years, you will be entitled to a refund of the unearned premium (see second page for further details). 
Legal Rights to Cancel or Terminate Private Mortgage Insurance
(1) You have a right to cancel the PMI when the principal balance of your loan reaches 80% of the original value of the property securing your loan.

Your right to cancel may be exercised on either of the following cancellation dates:

· The date on which the principal balance of the mortgage, based solely on the amortization schedule for the mortgage loan and irrespective of the outstanding balance on that date, is first scheduled to reach 80% of the original value of the property securing the loan; or

· The date on which the principal balance of the mortgage, based solely on actual payments, reaches 80% of the original value of the property securing the loan.

To exercise this right to cancel you must satisfy the following requirements:

· You must submit a written request for cancellation to the servicer of the loan.

· You must have a “good payment history” on the mortgage loan. This means that you have not made any mortgage payment 60 days or more past due during the 24-month period preceding the cancellation date. In addition, it means that you have not made any mortgage payments 30 days or more past due during the 12-month period preceding the cancellation date.

· You must satisfy any requirement of the holder of the mortgage, as of the date of the written cancellation request, for: (a) evidence that the value of the property has not declined below the original value of the property; and (b) certification that the equity of the mortgagor in the residence securing the mortgage is not encumbered by a subordinate lien.

(2) The PMI for your loan will automatically terminate when the principal balance of your loan reaches 78% of the original value of the property securing the loan.

· On that date you must be current on the payments required by the terms of the loan. If you are not current on that date, then the PMI will automatically terminate when you become current on the payments required by the terms of the loan.

(3) An automatic termination when the loan reaches the scheduled midpoint of the amortization period.

· On that date you must be current on the payments required by the terms of the loan. If you are not current on that date, then the PMI requirement will automatically terminate when you become current on the payments required by the terms of the loan.

Again, please be advised that your requirement to pay for PMI was only for a period of five (5) years, which you paid upfront at the closing of your loan.  The majority, if not all, of your cancellation and termination rights described above will likely occur beyond the five year period for which you were required to pay for PMI.  
Right to a Refund

If during the first five years from the closing of your loan you will be entitled to a refund of the unearned PMI premium under the following scenarios:

· The PMI on your loan is cancelled or terminated within the first five years from the closing of your loan under the conditions described in paragraphs (1) to (3) above; or
· You refinance your loan or sell your home.
Please see the attached refund schedule for details on the amount of refund you may be entitled to if your PMI is cancelled or terminated within the first five years of your loan. 
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