

RENTERS' RIGHTS & STABILIZATION ACT FOR COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL OFFICIALS

Governor Wes Moore signed the <u>Renters' Rights and Stabilization Act of 2024</u> into law, changing the housing landscape for renters in Maryland. The Act, which takes effect **October 1, 2024**, creates the first statewide tenant opportunity to purchase law in the nation, lowers security deposit maximums, establishes a new Office of Tenant and Landlord Affairs to act as a central resource for renters, and increases the cost to file for an eviction.

More detailed guidance for officials is forthcoming and questions or particular areas that should be covered can be <u>submitted to the department</u>.

Landlords now required to:

- Pay a filing fee of \$50 (\$60 in Baltimore City) to file a summary ejectment action against a tenant who is delinquent on rent (previously \$15/\$25)
- Include a copy of the Maryland Tenants' Bill of Rights as an addendum to all residential leases
- Offer tenants of 1-, 2-, or 3-unit residential rental properties the opportunity to purchase the property before selling to a third party



No longer allowed:

- Requiring a security deposit of more than one month's rent, with limited exceptions
- Requiring more than two month's rent (security deposit + first month) to be paid at lease signing and before move-in
- Requiring tenants to reimburse landlords for eviction filing fees, except by deduction from security deposit
- Execution of evictions during extreme weather conditions, including below-freezing temperatures, winter storm/blizzard warnings, hurricane/tropical storm warnings, and excessive heat warnings

Other Changes:

• Time between judgment in favor of a landlord in an eviction case and issuance of a warrant of restitution extended from 4 to 7 days